Northwestern Switzerland Government Conference

The Intergovernmental Conference of Northwestern Switzerland (Norwestschweizer Regierungskonferenz –“NWRK”) is an amalgamation of the cantons of Basel-Stadt, Basel-Landschaft, Aargau, Solothurn and Jura. The cantons of Zurich and Bern are associate members.

View enlarged image
The members of the Intergovernmental Conference of Northwestern Switzerland. The Plenary Assembly meets once a year in the respective presidential canton.

The conference was founded in 1971 and is used for the mutual exchange of information and coordination in fulfilling agreed governmental tasks. It also plays its role as an effective representation of the region when dealing with the Federal Government and other regions in Switzerland, it presents a unified front to partners in the Upper Rhine cooperation and other major regions in Europe as well as providing an overview of inter-cantonal activities and ensuring the flow of information between the inter-cantonal bodies in the region.

In 2018, the Intergovernmental Conference of Northwestern Switzerland has approved a joint strategy over the years 2019-2022. The strategy focuses on priorities in the following three areas:

  1. Federal policy
  2. Regional cooperation
  3. Cross-border cooperation

More information about